Dawn came on

The wind was up before the sun. It picked up snow and tossed it around, rearranged it into drifts, bullied it off rooftops, pushed its way onto the porch, shoved up against the front door where it waited with the morning news. It bolted back into the air, changed directions, as though trying to return home, jilting the earth.

Crows came. Snowballs from hell, singed and zigging through the air like black lightening. Confetti for the workday. Sun squinted through the mash of snow and crows and nothing was clear, except my tea.

I started anyway.

27 thoughts on “Dawn came on

  1. dawnkinster March 1, 2016 / 9:30 am

    I LOVED the ‘”nowballs from hell,” actually loved all of this. It makes me very glad I am retired and I don’t have to “start anyway.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Susanne March 1, 2016 / 5:24 pm

      Yeah. Crows. I actually quite like them and I think they’ve been given a bad reputation which I’m afraid I’ve added to.

      Like

  2. exiledprospero March 1, 2016 / 11:50 am

    Confetti for the workday. Lovely image.

    Like

    • Susanne March 1, 2016 / 5:25 pm

      Thanks, Andrea. We’ve had a mild winter until February came along and suddenly we were hammered with every winter possibility in 29 days. More coming tonight, too. It’s quite exciting as long as you don’t have to drive in it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Susanne March 1, 2016 / 5:22 pm

      I have a window at work and all through January I was there before it got light. I watched the wind blow crows from their roosts and whip up the snow on the ground and the sun try to poke through all the confusion in the air. It was a nice way to start the day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Donna Gwinnell Lambo-Weidner March 1, 2016 / 8:02 pm

    I think I’m beginning to miss snow…the kind you watch fall and accumulate from beside the comfort of a blazing fire. Not the slushy, black ice on the road kind. Your description rocks, Susanne. As always. Singed snowballs…only you! 🙂

    Like

    • Susanne March 2, 2016 / 5:00 pm

      Oh yes, the snow is fun to watch pile up as long as you don’t have to go anywhere in it. Walking a 10 pound dog is a challenge when the sidewalks haven’t been plowed. He’s exhausted from behaving more like a rabbit or a gazelle bounding up over the drifts.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. diahannreyes March 1, 2016 / 10:53 pm

    I loved that starting anyway – and the line about how nothing was clear except my tea- I felt like it grounded all the images that came before it.

    Like

    • Susanne March 2, 2016 / 5:02 pm

      Thanks, Diahann. Swirly snow, swirling emotions, calm tea. Tea is good that way!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Bruce Goodman March 2, 2016 / 3:38 am

    That takes me back to when I lived in places where it snowed. Wonderful. And black crows on white snow. Equally wonderful!

    Like

    • Susanne March 2, 2016 / 5:03 pm

      Pepper flakes on mashed pototoes. Mmm. I love a good contrasting food or nasty winter day.

      Like

  6. Lisa @ cheergerm March 2, 2016 / 5:59 am

    Great imagery Sue. (A far cry from our weather right now.) Crows are much maligned and I too feel they often get a bad rap. Then I read Kid 1 ‘The Raven’ by Poe the other night and maybe it is fitting!

    Like

    • Susanne March 2, 2016 / 5:04 pm

      Ravens are somewhat different than crows. They’re bigger and have a deeper call that kind of rattles in their chests. I love Ravens and crows, too. I find myself writing about them a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Osyth March 2, 2016 / 12:09 pm

    Indeed this is great imagery. The crows of course but my favourite is the wind bullying the snow off rooftops. I love crows. They are terribly maligned.

    Like

    • Susanne March 2, 2016 / 5:05 pm

      The wind was definitely behaving like a bully the other day. Brutal and irrational and constantly changing direction. Fun to watch but not so nice to try and walk in it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Osyth March 2, 2016 / 5:38 pm

        I used to hate wind as a child and would complain ‘it’s winding’ These days I have less hatred for hit unless, as you say, I am walking into it and trying to get somewhere sensible i.e not hiking which doesn’t count as sensible 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Luanne March 4, 2016 / 3:21 pm

    I love the wind bullying the snow!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

    • Susanne March 4, 2016 / 6:06 pm

      Someone has to bully it. Glad to have turned the corner on February and now the sun can put the snow in its place.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Luanne March 6, 2016 / 10:26 am

        That is the Japanese folk tale that inspired one of my DG poems. There is always something coming along to give the one on top its comeuppence ;).

        Liked by 1 person

Render your thoughts into (virtual) reality.

