Round and round

He drives me to work and picks me up every day. The mornings are often silent journeys. If the truth were told, I’d say I’m still not over my jealousy that he is retired and I am not. I suspect he knows this which is why he drives me to work so I don’t have to take the bus, an activity guaranteed to strobe the jealousy chartreuse.

Last week he had two obsessions. The morning:

“Look at that car. The winter tires have four bolts.”

“So?”

Silence for a few hundred metres.

“That one has five.”

“Pardon?”

“Bolts. Five bolts.”

“So?”

“Isn’t there a standard? What if the wheels fall off?”

The evening obsession is not so easily summarized but let’s call it the Trump Watch Tower in which I am brought up to date on the daily donnybrooks.

It seems the day ends almost as it began with concerns over loose bolts and wobbly wheels and a need for standards.

 

10 thoughts on “Round and round

    • Susanne March 5, 2016 / 1:22 pm

      So far I’ve had 2 requests from my American friends. I’ll start looking for housing, Donna. My neighbourhood is very nice and quite diverse with a good dog/people ratio. I think you’d like it and I’d sure like to meet you!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. thecontentedcrafter March 5, 2016 / 2:13 pm

    I recommend retirement to everyone I come across 🙂 Though I have to say my daily interests list goes no where near your husbands. Maybe it’s a male/female thing? 🙂

    Like

    • Susanne March 6, 2016 / 2:59 pm

      The wheels keep on turning, Pauline. Some of the revolutions we understand. Some we don’t.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa @ cheergerm March 6, 2016 / 2:23 am

    Love this, let’s hope you Canadians don’t need to build a fence as well! 😂

    Like

  3. Susanne March 6, 2016 / 3:03 pm

    A new category of refugee status will have to be created to welcome the expected northern migration before La Donald builds a northern wall. If he wants to build it I say go for it. Let someone else’s taxes pay for his folly. Afterwards we’ll do what we Canadians do: mend the fence.

    Like

  4. exiledprospero March 7, 2016 / 7:30 pm

    Well, all countries, Canada, Mexico, Bermuda should build walls. How else will they keep the donald out?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. J.B. Whitmore March 13, 2016 / 12:05 am

    Nuts and bolts are essential. Especially nuts.

    When can you retire?

    Like

Render your thoughts into (virtual) reality.

