Lunch break

Image result for Incredible Good Fortune Ursula K. Le GuinIn the used bookstore at lunch escaping my work computer loaded with musts and shoulds, I am conscious how I stick out among the jean clad students cramming and the time-served retirees relaxing. Students slouch over tables their coffee mugs steaming industriously. Two older-than-me women hold down the wing chairs in the window, displaying leisure. One holds a pink highlighter uncapped and clamped between her index finger and thumb, cocked and ready to mark the noteworthy on the page in front of her. Her cup is not steaming. She sips anyway.

In the poetry section I realize how difficult it is to bend sideways and genuflect in a tight red skirt as I try to read the titles of skinny books of poetry, poor refugees squeezed between their fat anthologized neighbours; how my high-heeled boots click-clack across hardwood boards once blond now worn in spots to grey; how my chair clunks as I pull it out all eyes burrowing deeper between the covers; how I dip Darjeeling tea wrapped in a small sack tied with a string, a hobo satchel held by an exiled office worker looking for a place in a different cliche; how a whiff of perfume rises when I lift off my coat but does not mask the scent of dust stuck between pages and floating champagne-like and atmospheric when released.

I stay, steeping, keeping still while the dust settles around me, reading two treasures found: Billy Collins Nine Horses and Ursula K. Le Guin’s Incredible Good Fortune. Still, lucky me here among words and readers for a short time, away from musts and shoulds.Image result for Nine Horses Billy Collins

 

17 thoughts on “Lunch break

  1. Osyth October 28, 2016 / 10:28 am

    The poetry in your own words is a treasure in itself ….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Susanne October 28, 2016 / 2:30 pm

      I was half thinking this should have been a poem. Thanks, O.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Manja Mexi Movie October 28, 2016 / 10:48 am

    I like it how you open the door for us to see it all, and “Incredible Good Fortune” as a title. Since it truly is.

    Like

    • Susanne October 28, 2016 / 2:29 pm

      It was one of those pockets of time when the stars aligned – books, writing, blogging, and poetry. A lucky convergence.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jbbluesman October 28, 2016 / 11:30 am

    Your writing tickles me Susanne starts my morning off with a smile!

    Like

    • Susanne October 28, 2016 / 2:28 pm

      Then I am having a good day, JB.

      Like

  4. exiledprospero October 28, 2016 / 12:31 pm

    Browsing my wordpress reader, away–conjunctively–from ands and yets.

    Like

  5. Cynthia Jobin October 28, 2016 / 1:50 pm

    I wonder if the musts and shoulds ever completely go away….they do seem to grow more pale with time.
    It’s very kind of you to take refugees like Ursula and Billy to lunch. (Even his great popular reception and his stint as our national Poet Laureate couldn’t have brought much in the way of filthy lucre to the latter.) Nice idea…a used-book store with wing-backed chairs and tea….

    Like

    • Susanne October 28, 2016 / 2:26 pm

      If you lived here I would invite you to have tea with me at The Black Squirrel, the name of the bookstore. I find this funny because I really, really dislike squirrels but this bookstore is a real gem. I couldn’t believe I found Billy and Ursula wedged between the big anthologies just waiting for me!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Bruce Goodman October 28, 2016 / 2:26 pm

    I must remember not to wear a tight red skirt when I go into a book shop. Very evocative writing as always, Sue.

    Like

    • Susanne October 28, 2016 / 2:31 pm

      Oh golly, I am sputtering at the image of you in a tight red skirt! I was looking the very picture of propriety I’ll have you know. If I didn’t like chocolate so much the damn thing wouldn’t be tight.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Susanne October 29, 2016 / 5:11 pm

      I didn’t know she wrote poetry either. In the forward to the book she says she joined a poetry writing group when she was 70 (!) and many of the poems in the book come from that period.

      Like

Render your thoughts into (virtual) reality.

